2019-02-19 Welcome guest,  Sign In  |  Sign Up
Chin. Opt. Lett.
 Home  List of Issues    Issue 06 , Vol. 16 , 2018    10.3788/COL201816.061404

550 MHz carbon nanotube mode-locked femtosecond Cr:YAG laser
Jun Wan Kim1, Sun Young Choi2, Won Tae Kim2, Bong Joo Kang2, Won Bae Cho3, Guang-Hoon Kim1, and Fabian Rotermund2
1 Advanced Medical Device Research Division, [Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute (KERI)], Ansan 1 5588, Korea
2 Department of Physics, [Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)], Daejeon 34141, Korea
3 BioMed Research Section, [Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI)], Daejeon 3 4129, Korea

Chin. Opt. Lett., 2018, 16(06): pp.061404

Topic:Lasers and laser optics
Keywords(OCIS Code): 140.4050  140.5680  140.7090  160.4236  

We demonstrate a femtosecond Cr:YAG laser mode-locked by a carbon nanotube saturable absorber mirror (CNT-SAM) at a repetition rate of 550 MHz. By employing the CNT-SAM, which exhibits a modulation depth of 0.51% and a saturation fluence of 28 μJ/cm2 at 1.5 μm, we achieved a compact bulk Cr:YAG laser with self-starting mode-locked operation near 1.5 μm, delivering an average output power of up to 147 mW and a pulse duration of 110 fs. To our knowledge, this system provides the highest repetition rate among reported CNT-SAM mode-locked Cr:YAG lasers and the shortest pulse duration among saturable absorber mode-locked Cr:YAG lasers with repetition rates above 500 MHz.

Copyright: © 2003-2012 . This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

 View PDF (575 KB)


Posted online:2018/5/28

Get Citation: Jun Wan Kim, Sun Young Choi, Won Tae Kim, Bong Joo Kang, Won Bae Cho, Guang-Hoon Kim, and Fabian Rotermund, "550 MHz carbon nanotube mode-locked femtosecond Cr:YAG laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 16(06), 061404(2018)

Note: This work was supported by the Korea Electrotechnology Research Institute Primary research program through the National Research Council of Science & Technology (NST) funded by the Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning (MSIP) (No. 18-12-N0101-41), the Creative Allied Project of the NST (No. CAP-15-06-ETRI), and the National Research Foundation (NRF) of Korea funded by MSIP (Nos. 2016R1A2A1A05005381 and 2017R1A4A1015426).


1. D. Mao, X. Liu, Z. Sun, H. Lu, D. Han, G. Wang, and F. Wang, Sci. Rep. 3, 3223 (2013).

2. A. Bartels, D. Heinecke, and S. A. Diddams, Science 326, 681 (2009).

3. D. A. B. Miller, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 6, 1312 (2000).

4. C. Janke, M. F?rst, M. Nagel, H. Kurz, and A. Bartels, Opt. Lett. 30, 1405 (2005).

5. A. Bartels, T. Dekorsy, and H. Kurz, Opt. Lett. 24, 996 (1999).

6. K. Kieu, W. H. Renninger, A. Chong, and F. W. Wise, Opt. Lett. 34, 593 (2009).

7. S. Y. Choi, D. K. Cho, Y.-W. Song, K. Oh, K. Kim, F. Rotermund, and D.-I. Yeom, Opt. Express 20, 5652 (2012).

8. Y. Ishida, and K. Naganuma, Opt. Lett. 19, 2003 (1994).

9. D. J. Ripin, C. Chudoba, J. T. Gopinath, J. G. Fujimoto, E. P. Ippen, U. Morgner, F. X. K?rtner, V. Scheuer, G. Angelow, and T. Tschudi, Opt. Lett. 27, 61 (2002).

10. C. R. Pollock, D. B. Barber, J. L. Mass, and S. Markgraf, IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 1, 62 (1995).

11. T. Tomaru, and H. Petek, Opt. Lett. 25, 584 (2000).

12. T. Tomaru, Opt. Lett. 26, 1439 (2001).

13. C. G. Leburn, A. A. Lagatsky, C. T. A. Brown, and W. Sibbett, Electron. Lett. 40, 805 (2004).

14. B. C. Collings, K. Bergman, and W. H. Knox, Opt. Lett. 22, 1098 (1997).

15. W. B. Cho, J. H. Yim, S. Y. Choi, S. Lee, A. Schmidt, G. Steinmeyer, U. Griebner, V. Petrov, D.-I. Yeom, K. Kim, and F. Rotermund, Adv. Funct. Mater. 20, 1937 (2010).

16. F. Rotermund, W. B. Cho, S. Y. Choi, I. H. Baek, J. H. Yim, S. Lee, A. Schmidt, G. Steinmeyer, U. Griebner, D.-I. Yeom, K. Kim, and V. Petrov, Quantum Electron. 42, 663 (2012).

17. H.-W. Yang, C. Kim, S. Y. Choi, G.-H. Kim, Y. Kobayashi, F. Rotermund, and J. Kim, Opt. Express 20, 29518 (2012).

18. S. Y. Choi, J. W. Kim, M. H. Kim, D.-I. Yeom, B. H. Hong, X. Mateos, M. Aguilo, F. Diaz, V. Petrov, U. Griebner, and F. Rotermund, Opt. Express 22, 15626 (2014).

19. W. B. Cho, A. Schmidt, S. Y. Choi, V. Petrov, U. Griebner, G. Steinmeyer, S. Lee, D.-I. Yeom, and F. Rotermund, Opt. Lett. 35, 2669 (2010).

20. S. D. D. D. Cafiso, E. Ugolotti, A. Schmidt, V. Petrov, U. Griebner, A. Agnesi, W. B. Cho, Y. G. Zhang, S. Y. Choi, F. Rotermund, G. Reali, and F. Pirzio, Laser Phys. Lett. 10, 085801 (2013).

21. C. H?nninger, R. Paschotta, F. Morier-Genoud, M. Moser, and U. Keller, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 16, 46 (1999).

22. M. Haiml, R. Grange, and U. Keller, Appl. Phys. B 79, 331 (2004).

Save this article's abstract as
Copyright©2018 Chinese Optics Letters 沪ICP备15018463号-7 公安备案沪公网安备 31011402005522号