2019-03-20 Welcome guest,  Sign In  |  Sign Up
Chin. Opt. Lett.
 Home  List of Issues    Issue 04 , Vol. 16 , 2018    10.3788/COL201816.041901

Optimization of highly efficient terahertz generation in lithium niobate driven by Ti:sapphire laser pulses with 30 fs pulse duration
Xiaojun Wu1, Shusu Chai1, Jinglong Ma2, Baolong Zhang2, Chenyi Xia3, Zhaoji Fang1, Deyin Kong1, Jinguang Wang2;4, Hao Liu2;4, Changqing Zhu2;4, Xuan Wang2, Cunjun Ruan1, and Yutong Li2;4;5
1 School of Electronic and Information Engineering, [Beihang University], Beijing 1 001 91 , China
2 Beijing National Laboratory for Condensed Matter Physics, [Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences], Beijing 100190, China
3 School of Automation Science and Electrical Engineering, [Beihang University], Beijing 100191, China
4 School of Physical Sciences, [University of Chinese Academy of Sciences], Beijing 10004 9, China
5 Collaborative Innovation Center of IFSA (CICIFSA), [Shanghai Jiao Tong University], Shanghai 200240, China

Chin. Opt. Lett., 2018, 16(04): pp.041901

Topic:Nonlinear optics
Keywords(OCIS Code): 190.7110  040.2235  160.3730  

We systematically study the optimization of highly efficient terahertz (THz) generation in lithium niobate (LN) crystal pumped by 800 nm laser pulses with 30 fs pulse duration. At room temperature, we obtain a record optical-to-THz energy conversion efficiency of 0.43% by chirping the pump laser pulses. Our method provides a new technique for producing millijoule THz radiation in LN via optical rectification driven by joule-level Ti:sapphire laser systems, which deliver sub-50-fs pulse durations.

Copyright: © 2003-2012 . This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

 View PDF (612 KB)


Posted online:2018/3/26

Get Citation: Xiaojun Wu, Shusu Chai, Jinglong Ma, Baolong Zhang, Chenyi Xia, Zhaoji Fang, Deyin Kong, Jinguang Wang, Hao Liu, Changqing Zhu, Xuan Wang, Cunjun Ruan, and Yutong Li, "Optimization of highly efficient terahertz generation in lithium niobate driven by Ti:sapphire laser pulses with 30 fs pulse duration," Chin. Opt. Lett. 16(04), 041901(2018)

Note: This work was supported by the National Basic Research Program of China (No. 2013CBA01501), the National Natural Science Foundation of China (No. 11520101003), and the Strategic Priority Research Program of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Nos. XDB16010200 and XDB07030300). Dr. Xiaojun Wu thanks the “Zhuoyue” Program of Beihang University (No. GZ216S1711).


1. Y.-S. Lee, Principles of Terahertz Science and Technology (Springer, 2009).

2. M. Exter, C. Fattinger, and D. Grischkowsky, Opt. Lett. 14, 1128 (1989).

3. Y. Yang, M. Mandehgar, and D. Grischkowsky, Opt. Lett. 20, 26208 (2012).

4. R. I. Stantchev, D. B. Phillips, P. Hobson, S. M. Hornett, M. J. Padgett, and E. Hendry, Optica 4, 989 (2017).

5. H. A. Hafez, X. Chai, A. Ibrahim, S. Mondal, D. Férachou, X. Ropagnol, and T. Ozaki, J. Opt. 18, 093004 (2016).

6. D. Nicoletti, and A. Cavalleri, Adv. Opt. Photon. 8, 401 (2016).

7. P. K. Mishra, O. Vendrell, and R. Santra, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 52, 13685 (2013).

8. V. I. Fedorov, Biophysics 62, 324 (2017).

9. N. Stojanovic, and M. Drescher, J. Phy. At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 46, 192001 (2013).

10. X. Ropagnol, M. Khorasaninejad, M. Raeiszadeh, S. S. Naeini, M. Bouvier, C. Y. C?té, A. Laramée, M. Reid, M. A. Gauthier, and T. Ozaki, Opt. Express 24, 11299 (2016).

11. N. T. Yardimci, S. H. Yang, C. W. Berry, and M. Jarrahi, IEEE Trans. THz. Sci. Tech. 5, 223 (2015).

12. K. Y. Kim, A. J. Taylor, J. H. Glownia, and G. Rodriguez, Nat. Photon. 2, 605 (2008).

13. C. Vicario, A. V. Ovchinnikov, S. I. Ashitkov, M. B. Agranat, V. E. Fortov, and C. P. Hauri, Opt. Lett. 39, 6632 (2014).

14. W. R. Huang, A. Fallahi, X. Wu, H. Cankaya, A.-L. Calendron, K. Ravi, D. Zhang, E. A. Nanni, K. H. Hong, and F. X. K?rtner, Optica 3, 1209 (2016).

15. X. Zhao, J. Zhang, K. Fan, G. Duan, G. D. Metcalfe, M. Wraback, X. Zhang, and R. D. Averitt, Photon. Res. 4, A16 (2016).

16. C. Lange, T. Maag, M. Hohenleutner, S. Baierl, O. Schubert, E. R. J. Edwards, D. Bougeard, G. Woltersdorf, and R. Huber, Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 227401 (2014).

17. K. Iwaszczuk, M. Zalkovskij, A. C. Strikwerda, and P. U. Jepsen, Optica 2, 116 (2015).

18. R. Matsunaga, N. Tsuji, H. Fujita, A. Sugioka, K. Makise, Y. Uzawa, H. Terai, Z. Wang, H. Aoki, and R. Shimano, Science 345, 1145 (2014).

19. T. Kampfrath, K. Tanaka, and K. A. Nelson, Nat. Photon. 7, 680 (2013).

20. J. Hebling, G. Almási, and I. Z. Kozma, Opt. Express 10, 1161 (2002).

21. A. Yahaghi, K. Ravi, A. Fallahi, and F. K?rtner, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 34, 590 (2017).

22. M. I. Bakunov, S. B. Bodrov, and E. A. Mashkovich, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 28, 1724 (2011).

23. J. A. Fül?p, G. Polónyi, B. Monoszlai, G. Andriukaitis, T. Balciunas, A. Pugzlys, G. Arthur, A. Baltuska, and J. Hebling, Optica 3, 1075 (2016).

24. K.-L. Yeh, M. C. Hoffmann, J. Hebling, and K. A. Nelson, Appl. Phys. Lett. 90, 171121 (2007).

25. J. A. Fül?p, L. Pálfalvi, G. Almási, and J. Hebling, Opt. Lett. 18, 12311 (2010).

26. S.-W. Huang, E. Granados, W. R. Huang, K.-H. Hong, L. E. Zapata, and F. X. K?rtner, Opt. Lett. 38, 796 (2013).

27. J. A. Fül?p, Z. Ollmann, C. Lombosi, C. Skrobol, S. Klingebiel, L. Pálfalvi, F. Krausz, S. Karsch, and J. Hebling, Opt. Lett. 22, 20155 (2014).

28. M. Kunitski, M. Richter, M. D. Thomson, A. Vredenborg, J. Wu, T. Jahnke, M. Sch?ffler, H. S.-B. B?cking, H. G. Roskos, and R. D?rner, Opt. Express 21, 6826 (2013).

29. X. Wu, S. Carbajo, K. Ravi, F. Ahr, G. Cirmi, Y. Zhou, O. D. Mücke, and F. X. K?tner, Opt. Lett. 39, 5403 (2014).

30. F. Blanchard, X. Ropagnol, H. Hafez, H. Razavipour, M. Bolduc, R. Morandotti, T. Ozaki, and D. G. Cooke, Opt. Lett. 39, 4333 (2014).

31. S.-C. Zhong, J. Li, Z.-H. Zhai, L.-G. Zhu, J. Li, P.-W. Zhou, J.-H. Zhao, and Z.-R. Li, Opt. Express 24, 14828 (2016).

32. C. Lombosi, G. Polónyi, M. Mechler, Z. Ollmann, J. Hebling, and J. A. Fül?p, New J. Phys. 17, 083041 (2015).

33. K. Ravi, W. R. Huang, S. Carbajo, X. Wu, and F. X. K?tner, Opt. Express 22, 20239 (2014).

Save this article's abstract as
Copyright©2018 Chinese Optics Letters 沪ICP备15018463号-7 公安备案沪公网安备 31011402005522号