2019-02-19 Welcome guest,  Sign In  |  Sign Up
Chin. Opt. Lett.
 Home  List of Issues    Issue 04 , Vol. 16 , 2018    10.3788/COL201816.040603

50 GHz optical true time delay beamforming in hybrid optical/mm-wave access networks with multi-core optical fiber distribution
álvaro Morales1, Idelfonso Tafur Monroy1, Fredrik Nordwall2, and Tommi S?rensen3
1 Department of Electrical Engineering, Electro-Optical Communications, [Eindhoven University of Technology], 5600 MB Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 [Tektronix AB], Kista, Sweden
3 [GoMeasure ApS], Albertslund, Denmark

Chin. Opt. Lett., 2018, 16(04): pp.040603

Topic:Fiber optics and optical communication
Keywords(OCIS Code): 060.4510  060.5625  

We propose and experimentally validate an optical true time delay beamforming scheme with straightforward integration into hybrid optical/millimeter (mm)-wave access networks. In the proposed approach, the most complex functions, including the beamforming network, are implemented in a central office, reducing the complexity and cost of remote antenna units. Different cores in a multi-core fiber are used to distribute the modulated signals to high-speed photodetectors acting as heterodyne mixers. The mm-wave carrier frequency is fixed to 50 GHz (V-Band), thereby imposing a progressive delay between antenna elements of a few picoseconds. That true time delay is achieved with an accuracy lower than 1 ps and low phase noise.

Copyright: © 2003-2012 . This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

 View PDF (859 KB)


Posted online:2018/3/26

Get Citation: álvaro Morales, Idelfonso Tafur Monroy, Fredrik Nordwall, and Tommi S?rensen, "50 GHz optical true time delay beamforming in hybrid optical/mm-wave access networks with multi-core optical fiber distribution," Chin. Opt. Lett. 16(04), 040603(2018)

Note: This work was partly founded by H2020 ITN CELTA under Grant No. 675683 of Call: H2020-MSCA-ITN-2015. The authors also thank the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) for providing the facilities and the equipment to conduct the experiment.


1. Z. Jia, J. Yu, G. Ellinas, and G. K. Chang, J. Lightwave Technol. 25, 3452 (2007).

2. C. Dehos, J. L. González, A. De Domenico, D. Ktenas, and L. Dussopt, IEEE Commun. Mag. 52, 88 (2014).

3. S. Rodriguez, A. Morales, S. Rommel, J. J. Vegas Olmos, and I. Tafur Monroy, in Optical Fiber Communications Conference and Exhibition (OFC) (2017), p. 1.

4. S. Rommel, S. Rodriguez, ?. Chorchos, E. P. Grakhova, A. K. Sultanov, J. P. Turkiewicz, J. J. Vegas Olmos, and I. Tafur Monroy, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 28, 2303 (2016).

5. S. Kutty, and D. Sen, IEEE Commun. Surv. Tutorials 18, 949 (2016).

6. T. S. Rappaport, S. Sun, R. Mayzus, H. Zhao, Y. Azar, K. Wang, G. N. Wong, J. K. Schulz, M. Samini, and F. Gutierrez, IEEE Access 1, 335 (2013).

7. M. Agiwal, A. Roy, and N. Saxena, IEEE Commun. Surv. Tutorials 18, 1617 (2016).

8. S. Rodriguez, R. Puerta, H. Kim, J. J. Vegas Olmos, and I. Tafur Monroy, Microwave Opt. Technol. Lett. 58, 2068 (2016).

9. J. M. Galve, I. Gasulla, S. Sales, and J. Capmany, IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 52, 1 (2016).

10. A. Morales, S. Rodríguez, O. Gallardo, J. J. Vegas Olmos, and I. Tafur Monroy, J. Commun. Inf. Networks 2, 91 (2017).

11. A. Ghosh, T. A. Thomas, M. C. Cudak, R. Ratasuk, P. Moorut, F. W. Vook, T. S. Rappaport, G. R. MacCartney, S. Sun, and S. Nie, IEEE J. Sel. Areas Commun. 32, 1152 (2014).

12. I. Uchendu, and J. R. Kelly, Prog. Electromagn. Res. B 68, 35 (2016).

13. B. Vidal, T. Mengual, C. Ibanez-Lopez, and J. Marti, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 18, 2590 (2006).

14. B. M. Jung, J. D. Shin, and B. G. Kim, IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 19, 877 (2007).

15. Z. Cao, X. Zhao, F. M. Soares, N. Tessema, and A. M. J. Koonen, IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 53, 1 (2017).

16. R. J. Mailloux, Phased Array Antenna Handbook, Vol.?2 (Artech House, 2011).

17. B. Zhu, T. F. Taunay, M. F. Yan, J. M. Fini, M. Fishteyn, E. M. Monberg, and F. V. Dimarcello, Opt. Express 18, 11117 (2010).

Save this article's abstract as
Copyright©2018 Chinese Optics Letters 沪ICP备15018463号-7 公安备案沪公网安备 31011402005522号